Central Greece

Central Greece (Greek: Περιφέρεια Στερεάς Ελλάδας, Periféreia Stereás Elládas, properly translated as “Region of Central Greece”) is one of the thirteen administrative regions of Greece. The region occupies the eastern half of the traditional region of Central Greece, including the island of Euboea. To the south it borders the regions of Attica and the Peloponnese, to the west the region of West Greece and to the north the regions of Thessaly and Epirus. Its capital city is Lamia.

The region was established in the 1987 administrative reform. With the 2010 Kallikratis plan, its powers and authority were redefined and extended. Along with Thessaly, it is supervised by the Decentralized Administration of Thessaly and Central Greece based at Larissa. The region is based at Lamia and is divided[3] into five regional units (pre-Kallikratis prefectures), Boeotia, Euboea, Evrytania, Phocis and Phthiotis, which are further subdivided into 25 municipalities.  The region’s current governor is Kostas Bakoyannis of the New Democracy party, assuming office from Klearchos Pergantas, who was elected in the November 2010 local administration elections for the PASOK party.


Scroll to Top